Publisher Appreciation Week – It All Started One Naughty Night…

As I reach my 100th post, I have to give credit where credit is due and in all honesty, I know I wouldn’t be where I am now, if it wasn’t for the everybody at Naughty Nights Press.

What I mean by “here” is a place where I’m happy as a writer.  A place where, when I wake up, I try to make sure that I get at least 1500 words out a day that is focused on erotica.  Even if I’m sleep typing (which I’ve been doing a lot recently) or even worse… sleep editing (that’s a story for a completely different post) I find that I push myself to the creative limits because I know that I have a company who trusts in me and I equally trust them back.

However, I’m not coming at this from a place of just being happy to be published through NNP (and trust me I am happy with that) but it boils down to most of us writers don’t know the rigors that happen on the other side.

I’ve worked with writers most of my life and I know the ups and downs of dealing with the solitary mind and the sometimes unbalanced ego that goes a long with that. But when I stepped into this world of writing erotica what I discovered is that I didn’t just have a publishing company that stood behind me in NNP but I also had some friends that were looking out for my best interest as well.

In Nov. of 2011, I got my acceptance letter from Naughty Nights Press that they wanted to publish one of my stories, which I though was great.  I read the contact several times before sending it back and that was the easy part.

What I wasn’t expecting was that now, as a professional writer with NNP, I needed to hold up my end of the bargain which basically boils down to allowing them help me make money for both of us.

I didn’t have a blog or a Facebook page for Kendel Davi or a twitter or anything because that wasn’t on my mind but if they are willing to take a chance on me as a writer then I better damn well take a chance on myself.  Not just a chance but also a realistic view of what I want to do and how I want to do it.

That’s the value of having NNP in my corner.  This progression from where I was to where I needed to be to what I want my future to hold as an erotic writer has been made that much easier with them and I can’t tell you how much that means to me as an artist and a writer.

But none of this can be possible if you only think from the writer’s prospective and forget about the people who are busting their ass to help you get there.

Gina, you are by far one of the most wonderful people to work for and with.  Even when you’re giving me needed criticism on writing my bio.  I listened to you and more importantly you understood where I was coming from which made those adjustments that much more clear.

Penny, I can’t thank you enough for you’re support and how you put your trust in me with some of your own writing.

Annabelle, dear sweet incredible Annabelle.  You’re friendship has meant the world to me as I keep pushing my own limits as a writer.  I’m still working to keep that promise I made to you so you can eventually get your hands on it.

I could go on and on about everybody at Naughty Nights Press to fill this blog for months but I feel the best way to illustrate this is to briefly tell you what I did to become a NNP writer and why we are a wonderful fit for me.

Because my writing’s focus is firmly on ethnic diversity, I spent my time looking for submissions where I can explore that.  When I read the submission for last years holiday anthology it spoke to me and gave me a chance to push my limits in an arena that I was comfortable with.  Mixing Chanukah and Kwanza together in one character who is bi-racial and also bi-sexual and put her into a interracial group sex story that was emotionally charged due to the fact that she and her boyfriend were flying standby during the holidays was way beyond fun to write.

I know that’s more than a mouthful but it wasn’t a waste.

It’s like any erotic relationship.  You can’t just come in, do what you want, get off and then complain about how unsatisfied you were about the experience.  Where they satisfied?  Did you take the time to discover what they want and need?  Did you even ask or care if they were sexually fulfilled?  If you didn’t then guess whose fault that is?

With Naughty Nights Press I’ve found my ideal writing lover.

I showed them my package and they in return told me what I needed to do with it to delight them.  I’ve kissed them softly and they have caressed me lovingly in return.  When I’ve overstepped my bounds they have put me back on track with a loving slap that felt so good after it happened.  And now we’ve hit a wonderful groove where we can explore each other’s desires on the page to reach new heights of erotic gratification for an audience that wants to be aroused.

And ultimately isn’t that what writing erotica is all about?

Thank you Naughty Nights Press for everything you do!

I’m Kendel Davi and extremely proud to be a Naught Nights Press writer.

4 thoughts on “Publisher Appreciation Week – It All Started One Naughty Night…

  1. That was awesome and they are very correct…you are an amazing writer with an incredible gift for words. I am with you all the way NNP and its staff are the best. 🙂

  2. Apart from sitting here all choked up by your words Kendel, it was that last paragraph that got my pulses racing and my breathing to become just that little bit heavier. With descriptions like yours is it any wonder your a gem of a writer and Gina was impressed with you?
    *bites n kisses*

    1. I mean every word of it! NNP has allowed me to write erotica the way I enjoy it most, with the emotional specifics that I feel need to be explored.

      The fact that I can write the way I used to with other formats and mix it in with erotica allows me to want to write rather than feel like I have to.

      The support and encouragement that I get from NNP is exactly what I need since I don’t really get that anyplace else. You believed in me at a critical point in my writing world where I needed someone to see what I was trying to do and now I can just do it.

      I have nothing but love and respect for everybody there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

