Tantalizing Tuesdays – Manhattan

I can’t believe it’s already December.  This year has flown by with lots of highs and lows for me it’s given me a great deal of experiences to grow from.

With that in mind, here are my 200 words for this Tuesday.

DEC2_temp_02

Whenever I see that famous skyline, I think of her.

Movies, magazines, television, news reports, and paintings have attempted to capture the essence of Manhattan but it doesn’t compare to my experiences with her, which left an inextinguishable imprint on my weary soul. A scorching brand that has kept me far away from this city for over twenty years.

As my flight makes it final approach towards JFK, I glare at the metropolis that I used to call home. Her voice burrows into my ear, attaches itself to my core, and I regret being forced to make this business trip.

The memory of her scent wafts into my nose. I can taste her cinnamon colored skin as my mind flashes back to all of the depraved things I allowed myself to do for her approval. Each moment etched into my being like hieroglyphics of my sordid devotion to an Egyptian Queen whose only desire was to break me sexually.

Moving to Los Angeles didn’t seem far enough away but that distance made me feel safe. Now, seeing her name on this company e-mail from the New York office has me wondering if I can return from this trip intact.

Thanks, as always for stopping by and make sure you visit the other writers sharing their work with you today.

Tantilizing Tues Teaser Photo

6 thoughts on “Tantalizing Tuesdays – Manhattan

  1. A true reason to never come back east. I totally feel it. I want to say this is a story that could go somewhere. Some memories are pretty painful, and I can relate to the idea of being safe from where you used to call it home.

  2. A true loves story never ends and you have captured the unrelenting pursuit of our obsessions. Great flash along with a truly inspiring photo. Some favs? “….an inextinguishable imprint….scorching brand…voice burrows into my ear….hieroglyphics of my sordid devotion” Fabulous use of a string of real pearls. xo

Leave a Reply

